The Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine-blogger-award.jpgThank you so much to Romie @ Who said reading was boring? for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award! If you aren’t following her twitter, instagram, or blog, you’re really missing out and I recommend you remedy that as soon as possible! (After reading this post, of course.)

The Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  4. List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog.

 

I. Book Recommendation: “if you liked this book, then you’ll like this one”

I have a few of these, but the one I’m going to go with this time is: If you like Harry Potter, then chances are you’ll like The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s definitely a series I enjoyed that has a Harry Potter-like flair to it!

 

II. Care to share an unpopular opinion?

Ha! Of course I would. I don’t like reading hyped books. I used to because it’s how I found Harry Potter, which saved my life (a story for another time), but I’ve been let down so many times. Most recently, the book that let me down horribly was The Raven Boys. I’m happy other people enjoyed it but….not my cup of tea.

 

III. Put your phone on shuffle and find a book that matches the song you got.

I had to use my computer instead because I don’t keep music on my phone. The song I got was Beacon by Goliath Flores and the book that matches it is When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. The song is about still being yourself while letting yourself love someone and also letting yourself grow as a person. I also kind of feel like it’s about being there for the person you love even in the hard times.

 

IV. If you had to use one book as a shield to protect yourself – because why not, you totally dislike the thing – which one would it be?

I really don’t feel like I totally dislike any book that much. There are a great many books I feel meh about but dislike involves a level of caring I just don’t have for books I don’t like or love. I suppose if I had to choose one, it’d be Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas because it’s just kind of taking up space on my shelf and, with it being as large and heavy as it is, would make a perfectly acceptable weapon.

 

V. If you could share a cup of tea – or a good mug of coffee – with a fictional character, who would it be?

It would be so awesome to have a cup of tea or coffee with Nina from Six of Crows. Especially if there are waffles involved!!

 

VI. Unhaul: List 3 books you don’t want to see anymore on your shelves

Since I’ve already said one, I’ll go with The Raven Boys and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (because the series just wasn’t for me) and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (I never read it and won’t because I’m not sure I’m ready for the portrayal of abuse).

 

VII. Share the love: list your 3 favourite booktubers and 3 favourite bookstagrammers.

In no particular order, my 3 fave booktubers are the (book) supplierxreadingsolacex, and squibblesreads. My 3 fave bookstagrammers (again in no particular order) are VanshikaBrittany, and Shannon. The bookstagrammers were HORRIBLY DIFFICULT to choose. I really only follow those three booktubers though so that was easy!

 

VIII. Let’s say you have to get a book cover tattooed on your body, which one do you end up with forever?

Six of Crows French Edition. No contest whatsoever. IT’S GORGEOUS!

 

IX. Worst and best book-to-movie adaptation?

Worst is probably Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I couldn’t enjoy it and I’m not sure if that’s because it wasn’t good or if it’s because the movie is LITERALLY NOTHING like the book. At all. Best is The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex, which was adapted to the film Home by Dreamworks. I enjoyed the movie so much that I decided to read the book it was adapted from and was utterly disappointed.

 

X. If you could get rid of ONE character because they’re a total pain in the ass, who would you choose?

SEVERUS SNAPE

 

XI. Choose one book for each season.

Spring: How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

Summer: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Autumn: An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Winter: Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling (this is usually when I start my rereading of the series, so I always associate it with the season)

 

My Questions

  1. What’s something you’d like to see more of?
  2. What’s the best book you’ve read so far in 2017?
  3. Why did you decide to blog about books?
  4. What book or book series would you most like to see adapted into a movie or tv show?
  5. What book or book series do you wish you could forget you read and why?
  6. Who are three book bloggers, booktubers, or bookstagrammers who inspire you as a book blogger?
  7. Who are your auto-buy authors?
  8. What genre would you like to start reading more of?
  9. What do you drink or snack on while you write blog posts?
  10. What are your non-bookish hobbies?
  11. If you could have lunch with three characters, which three would you choose?

 

I Nominate

Katie @ katsyxo

the (book) supplier

Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek

Ravenclaw Book Club

Breeny @ Breeny’s Books

Lexie Brooke @ lexiebrookeblog

Misty @ Misty’s Book Space

Chelsea @ romweasley

Leah @ Small Queer, Big Opinions

YA Wednesdays

and YOU! If you’re interested in doing the tag, consider yourself tagged! 😉

 

That’s it for now, bookworms. Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award # 8 – mistysbookspace

Leave a comment