Taking On The Beat The Backlist Challenge 2017

I know it’s probably pretty crazy of me and I may regret it later (unlikely but possible) but I decided to take on the Beat The Backlist 2017 Challenge created by Novel Knight. I figure it’s a good chance to knock out some of the books that have been collecting dust on my TBR for a while. Also, it’s Harry Potter related and, if you’ve learned anything about me at all, you know I LOVE Harry Potter.

The challenge will run from 1 January to 31 December 2017, giving those of us participating a whole year to read as many books on our TBR as possible.

I know what you’re wondering. What does this have to do with Harry Potter? Well, I’ll tell you.

There’s a mini-challenge attached to Beat The Backlist that allows participants to give points to their Hogwarts House to win the House Cup! I’ll be reading for Ravenclaw because we’re the awesomest (totally a word). Here’s how points for the mini-challenge work:

  • Post Challenge TBR/goals on blog, Goodreads, social media, etc. = 20 points
  • Read 10 pages = 1 point
  • Write review = 50 points
  • There will also be other various opportunities to earn extra points throughout the year!

Novel Knight also came up with the brilliant idea to reset the points each month so every house has the chance to win the House Cup!

Because I’m still (slowly) combing through my TBR for which books to add to the challenge, but you can check out my list on Goodreads. I hope to see a few of you joining this challenge with me!

9 thoughts on “Taking On The Beat The Backlist Challenge 2017

  1. Oh this is fun! I reminds me of our House Cup aspect in the Harry Potter Month event that Faith and I host every July 😀 I might just join you on this – I’ve been working through my backlist titles all this year so why not keep the trend going?! I’d be Gryffindor of course 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely a good pattern to keep up! Especially since it’s Harry Potter related. Have to love it! I’m also doing the Dumbledore’s Army Read-A-Thon. That’s a diverse reads challenge from 1 January to 15 January. Hopefully, I’ll have that post up soon as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

