Harry Potter Spells Tag

Hey, bookworms! I missed doing a post yesterday for Harry Potter’s birthday because of writing and work. So today I’m going to make up for it by doing the Harry Potter Spells Tag, which I found on becoming bookish, who you should definitely check out (after reading this post, of course)!

I’m not going to tag anyone specific so if you decide you’d like to do it, consider yourself tagged! Let’s get to it!

 

1. Expecto Patronum – a childhood book connected to good memories

maxresdefault.jpg

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss is the only “childhood” book that I have good memories of. I consider childhood to span from ages birth to puberty, which didn’t leave me with much time to experience it as I went through puberty “early.” This was one of the first books I could read by myself and so I read it until my copy was tattered. (Photo credit to Chris Schwartz.)

 

2. Expelliarmus – a book that took you by surprise

IMG_20170727_105532_941

The Alchemyst (well, the whole The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) by Michael Scott really surprised me. I was looking for something similar to Harry Potter after a reread of the series and someone at the library suggested these. The covers reminded me of old books, which I thought was awesome, so I decided to check them out but had low expectations and wow! Definitely give them a go.

 

3. Prior Incanto – the last book you read

IMG_20170715_085617_450

I’m working my way through The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan. The last book I finished reading was the first book in the series, The Red Pyramid. Honestly at this point, the author could put his grocery lists on eBay and I’d bid. I like him as a person, but his writing is also really good, albeit inconsistent.

 

4. Alohamora – a book that introduced you to a genre you had not considered before

IMG_20170719_132807_954

Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey introduced me to a load of new things, both book related and not. It’s the first alternate universe book I’ve read and I really enjoyed it. I wish there were more alternate universe novels out there because I LOVE them. (If you have any recs….give me all the recs.)

 

5. Riddikulus – a funny book you’ve read

When Dimple Met Rishi IG

I laughed my way through at least half of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandy Menon. It’s such a fun summertime read and I’ll probably reread it again soon because I just love it so much! I should probably also work on my review for it but I might just wait until after my reread to do that. I don’t know yet. We shall see!

 

6. Sonorus – a book you think everybody should know about

The Dragons of Nova IG

If you’re surprised that I’m picking The Alchemists of Loom series by Elise Kova, you must not follow me on any social media or text with me at all ever because it’s at least half of what I talk about. I absolutely love this beautiful steampunk fantasy series and please check it out. You can thank me later, preferably with baked goods or candles.

 

7. Obliviate – a book or spoiler you would like to forget having read

2017-04-13 16.24.50

I would love to forget having read what I did of A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom. I’ve read ownvoices reviews that say how much they loved the book and saw great representation in it, but I really just hated it. As an ownvoices reviewer myself, I felt like it reinforced general stereotypes of bipolar disorder and the associated medicines while also providing wild inaccuracies I hadn’t heard before. I won’t review or rate it because, like I said, there are some reviewers who found good rep in it but I would love to forget I read any of it at all.

 

8. Imperio – a book you had to read for school

This one is impossible for me because the only things I had to read for school was when I was participating in school plays and I had to read and memorize a script. We were assigned book reports but we were always allowed to select our own books and since I was an avid reader even when I was younger, I never felt forced to read anything. I just wrote the report about whatever I happened to be reading right then.

 

9. Crucio – a book that was painful for you to read

IMG_20170425_102805_810

Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember In The Ashes series is so extremely painful to read, but not for the reason you might think. It’s so incredibly well written that everything is immersive and realistic and seeing the people in the book suffer is excruciating. I can’t wait for book 3 in 2018!

 

10. Avada Kedavra – a book that could kill

The first book that pops into my head for this prompt is 13 Reasons Why because it romanticizes suicide, which could potentially push someone toward committing suicide themselves. This has probably also been aggravated by the creation of the show, which I already know I can’t watch so please stop recommending I watch it.

 

And that’s it! I had loads of fun doing this tag! If it looks like something you’d enjoy doing too, I tag you!

Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Spells Tag

  1. Oh this would have been perfect to do for HPMonth! Great post^^ I wish I’d been able to get into The Alchemyst but it just didn’t work out for me 😦 I do enjoy Dr Seuss and Riordan though!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saved it just for July 31 and then I forgot it until the next day… :/ Not everything works for everyone. The Alchemyst isn’t perfect, but I really enjoyed it. Well, what I’ve read of it. I’m on the last book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

