​Blog Tour: The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova

If you’ve talked with me on social media in the past month or so, you know how super excited I am to be participating in this blog tour! I’m going to give you my fully opinionated review of The Dragons of Nova, but first I have a real treat to share with you.

Elise Kova has decided to come by Vicarious Bookworm for a quick interview! Thank you so much for joining us!

 

Which of the characters in The Dragons of Nova do you relate to the most and why?

It’s always hard for me to pick just one character because every character ends up being a mash-up of myself and people I know. That being said, my friends say I’m the most like Arianna, perhaps because I’m usually logic and efficiency driven.

 

Which of the characters is least like yourself?

As I am now? Florence. The reason why I specify that first bit is because I think there was a time where I was like Florence, younger and discovering who I was. But I’m on the other side of that transition now, I think. So I see the least of myself in her.

 

What authors have inspired you the most?

In my formative years, the works of Dave Duncan and JK Rowling were especially transformative for me. Among my peers today, I really admire Danielle L. Jensen and Susan Dennard. They’re both very dedicated to their craft and manage work and life admirably

 

How do you feel your start as an author has affected the way you see the publishing industry?

Being rejected by literary agents out the gate and deciding to self-publish really made me see that there are a lot of ways to be “successful” in publishing, and every person will define what success means to them. There’s nothing wrong with publishing just to be published, and you’re not more or less of an author if you go with a “big five” or not. I think my start really lit a fire in me to blaze my own trail, no matter what.

 

Finally, is there an indie bookstore where readers might find signed editions of The Dragons of Nova?

My local indie, Books at Park Place, usually has signed copies. I’m stopping at Books of Wonder in NYC on my tour, so they may have some on hand. I also will stop into bookstores a lot when I travel for work or pleasure, so if you want me to stop in somewhere, let me know!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

 

Now I bet you all want to know what The Dragons of Nova is about so here’s a Goodreads synopsis of it!

Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust — hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything — and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh.

While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills — and quick-shooting accuracy — makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons.

Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall.

Sounds great, right! What are my opinions on this book? Well, I thought you’d never ask!

 

My Review:

First, there were a couple trigger/content warnings that I noticed in this one so lets get them out of the way.

  • Air raid
  • Genocide
  • War crimes
  • Blood
  • Depictions of slavery
  • Torture
  • Homomisia (addressed on the page)
  • Death

If you follow me on any social media, you already know how much I love this series so please excuse me while I fangirl my way through this review.

The characters were developed really well for the most part. I felt like I could have had a conversation with all of the primary and a few of the secondary characters. There was an inconsistency in the relationship between Cvareh and Petra in that he is initially described in The Alchemists of Loom as her younger brother, but several times in this novel she is described as the youngest of the three siblings. This is easily remedied in editing and, as I was reading an unedited copy, I won’t allow that to take away from my rating, especially since others noticed this detail and wrote it into their reviews pre-publication.

I continued to love Ari, even though some of her behaviors and reactions to things made me want to scream and hit her. She definitely allowed herself to open up to new possibilities in The Dragons of Nova, even if they confuse or frustrate her. Finally, Flor. Ohh my sweet Flor and her rude awakening broke my heart. I just want her to be okay! If I’m being honest, Flor’s arc is my favourite because she’s grown so much.

The world building in The Dragons of Nova is absolutely stunning. I can confidently say that the world itself is the shining beacon of this novel. Enough information is given throughout the novel at intervals that I felt like I had been dropped onto Nova and Loom and left to wander about with the characters. The building up wasn’t info dumpy at all. The increments of world building that are done throughout the book were hardly even noticeable beyond the expansion of my ability to put myself into the world of the story. There were things about the world that bothered me but that’s mostly the story and not the world.

However, the things in the story that bothered me were meant to be troubling. The depictions of ongoing slavery, the genocide, the torture…these things were all parts of the story that specifically brought on dislike for certain characters. The story flows very well in a way that kept me from being able to put it down. I spent literally every possible moment devouring the words, needing them as I need air. I really enjoyed how incredibly well written it is.

I mentioned in my review of The Alchemists of Loom (which you can find here) that I was very pleasantly surprised to find intersectional representation. Elise Kova followed through and brought that to the next level. The intersection of bi/pan, OCD and PTSD are clarified in canon and done so brilliantly, but we also have another canon intersection added: questioning and anxiety. It also seemed to me in this book that the bi/pan character may also be demisexual, but this is not made canon. There’s something about seeing one of my intersections so clearly represented that warms my heart and makes a permanent home for this book nearby.

Overall, I rate The Dragons of Nova 4 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of The Dragons of Nova and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

 

About the Author

Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she is not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She is the USA Today bestselling author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the Loom Saga.

 

Remember that giveaway I mentioned? You have the chance to win

  • 1 hardcover finished copy of The Dragons of Nova
  • 1 The Dragons of Nova Swag Pack

Enter here:

Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Luckily for me, I’m in amazing company on this blog tour. Luckily for you, the more tour hosts you visit, the greater your chances of winning! Check out the full blog tour schedule here so you can be sure not to miss any stops!

 

Thank you so much to Elise Kova for writing The Dragons of Nova! You are a blessing upon bookshelves everywhere.

Thank you to Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours for allowing me the privilege of being a host on this tour! (Seriously, if you aren’t registered as a tour host with them yet, I don’t know what you’re doing with your life.)

And lastly, but most definitely not least, a huge thank you to Keymaster Press for sending me an ARC of this brilliant novel.

 

That’s all for now! Happy reading, bookworms!

2 thoughts on “​Blog Tour: The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova

    1. Lol yes. I started putting trigger warnings because it’s nice to know those things are coming. It’s not just upsetting for some, it sets off mental illness. There are a few books I wouldn’t have read if I’d known I’d have my anxiety or PTSD set off to the degree I did.

      As far as Winds of Winter, I just hope poor GRRM lives long enough to release it. 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

