​ARC Review: The Hollow Crown by Jeff Wheeler

Goodreads Synopsis:

Following the downfall of a tyrant in the Wall Street Journal bestselling Kingfountain trilogy, years have passed in prosperity for the kingdom of Ceredigion. Now, as the time comes to celebrate the new king’s nuptials, the specter of a new enemy emerges to destroy all that has been painstakingly built in those years.

Tryneowy Kiskaddon has grown up learning military and diplomatic strategy from her father, one of the king’s closest advisors. She feels her destiny lies in defending the kingdom as a knight, not as a Wizr as her parents have decided, though no lady of the realm has taken up the sword in a century. As she seeks to understand her own Fountain-blessed powers, she studies in the tradition of her mother while training in secret and closely following the realm’s politics, alarmed by her mother’s vision of an impending clash and a devastating future.

But the pieces on fate’s game board are in motion, and on the eve of battle, a threatening force irrevocably changes the future of the kingdom and her own. Does Trynne have what it takes to maneuver Ceredigion’s key players into position and outsmart the kingdom’s enemies—even those still concealed in shadow?

 

Favourite Exerpts:

Kindle 11%

“It will be no greater miracle that brings us into another world to live forever with our dearest friends than that which has brought us into this one to live a lifetime with them.”

Kindle 13%

“How like men to elbow their way to glory, eh, little sister? Most men are pethets.” He pursed his lips and frowned. “Always seeking to grab something that isn’t theirs simply because they want it.”

 

My Review:

I really enjoyed getting back into this world, especially since I believed the Kingfountain series was only to be a trilogy. This fourth book with the promise of two more has come as a pleasant surprise!

With this book we get a change of point of view, which I found both refreshing and frustrating. It took me a little time to get used to Trynne’s voice but once I did, I really enjoyed the story. Life delt her a pretty harsh hand and I love seeing how strong she is in spite of it.

The characters are developed enough that I’m able to visualize them and imagine interacting with most of them. A few of the secondary characters felt a bit flat in comparison with what I’m used to from Jeff Wheeler, but that might be something that gets more detail in the next couple books.

I do want to say though that while it’s obvious we’re meant to ship Trynne with Fallon, I just didn’t like him. He came off as a typical spoiled brat and I just can’t understand why Trynne loves him romantically.

The world is built on top of the existing framework from the previous books so, while I noticed the storyline was fairly independent, it would be best to read the first three books in the series to have a good grasp of the world and he history within it. There were spaces that were introduced in this novel and they were built up to be quite immersive and enjoyable.

The story itself was really enjoyable and hard to put down once I stopped trying to read so many books at once. It’s definitely another page turner but that’s what I’ve come to expect from Jeff Wheeler’s work. I feel like it’s not quite as good as the first three books, but it’s definitely still kept some of my attention on the series. There is somewhat of a cliffhanger at the end. I’m anticipating the release of the fifth book in August!

Overall, I rate The Hollow Crown 3 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of The Hollow Crown and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

For more information about Jeff Wheeler and his work, visit his website.

I received an eARC of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for this honest review.

Leave a Reply

