​Review: The Traitor’s Tunnel by C. M. Spivey

Goodreads Synopsis:

Witch-blooded robber Bridget has made a reputation for herself in the capital city, but she’s not interested in the attention of the Thieves’ Guild–and she’s not bothered by the rumors of urchin kidnappings, either. With winter coming, she’s looking out for herself and no one else.

Until she picks the wrong pocket, and recognizes her estranged brother Teddy.

Young craftsman Theodor arrives in the capital ready to take the final step toward his dream career as Lord Engineer of Arido. His apprenticeship with a renowned city engineer comes with new rules and challenges, but it’s worth it for the exposure to the Imperial Council.

While spying on her brother, Bridget overhears a secret meeting that reveals a cruel plot. After more than a decade apart, Theodor and Bridget must reunite to stop a traitor whose plan threatens not only their city, but the whole empire.

Set seven years before the events of From Under the Mountain, The Traitor’s Tunnel is the story of two young people presented with a choice–to protect themselves, or to protect others–the consequences of which will change their lives forever.

 

Favourite Exerpts:

Kindle 2%

An excess of work meant abundant opportunities to highlight his strengths.

Kindle 40%

And she’d been angry to realize this, that Teddy and Leander were in love without demanding each other’s bodies. Not at them, of course, but she felt like she’d been lied to all her life. For years, too many years, those gazes had plagued her.

 

My Review:

I don’t pick up many novellas, but this one presented itself when I was having a bad day and I heard there was good representation in it so I decided to give it a go. The characters are developed beautifully throughout the story, though most of the supporting characters didn’t get much development. I expected this though, given the length of the story in comparison to the books I tend to reach for first.

I really liked the use of dual point-of-view characters, Theodor and Bridget. They have such different perspectives that it adds so much to what the story is and how I was able to watch it progress. I also really enjoyed being able to come at the situation from such different perspectives because it made the story feel more real.

The world is built up through the story with bits and pieces of the world being given from beginning to end. It’s done in such a clever way that it’s not explicit world building, but storytelling in a way that presents the world through the eyes of the characters. I think it was brilliantly done and it was very easy to lose myself in it.

At the beginning of the story, it felt like it was moving a bit slower than I expected it to, but the amazing representation present helped me stay interested. However, around the middle I realized the story wasn’t REALLY slow. The author was setting it up much like someone sets up dominos in a pattern before knocking into one and watching them fall in an unstoppable pattern. By the end of the story, I felt like I knew the characters and their situations. I felt like we’d been through the trial together.

At the end, the only thing I can say I’m unhappy with is that I had to say goodbye to the characters. I really hope we get to see more of them in the future because there’s so much potential there.

Overall, I rate The Traitor’s Tunnel 4 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Preorder a copy of The Traitor’s Tunnel and enjoy it for yourself when it’s released on 20 June 2017! A few places you can go to reserve your copy are:

For more information about C. M. Spivey and his work, visit his website.

I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for this honest review.

Leave a Reply

