​Blog Tour: How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

Oh my gosh I literally screamed when I was accepted to participate in this blog tour! I’m still kind of in shock even as I’m writing this post out. This is one of those books I’ve been looking forward to all year! What’s it about?

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

All seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn’t have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father.

Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace’s mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on.

 

I’m sure you can see why I’m barely containing my excitement here! FFBC asked me to pull some of my favourite quotes from How To Make A Wish (SO HARD TO PICK ONLY A FEW), but I somehow managed to narrow it down. Mostly because I’m sure it would be heavily frowned upon for me to post the whole book.

 

Favourite Quotes:

Page 51

“If you really want something, baby, the stars won’t help you. You have to reach out and take it.”

Page 99

“What’s hard? I mean, about how you see yourself?”

She smiles, but there’s no mirth in it. “Other people’s voices can get really loud.”

Page 107

And I knew the word fit me. It felt right. Not as a label, really, but more as a way to simply understand myself.

Page 152

“Its just a word, you know?” I say, meeting her gaze. “And sometimes words help; sometimes they don’t. But… well, I like who I like. I like the person.”

 

My Review:

Okay first let me go ahead and tell you that I cried when my ARC arrived. It’s still so surreal to me that I can look at my shelf and there it is. [Content sigh] WOW.

The characters in this book are all brilliantly developed. Even the supporting characters are all three dimensional. Ashley Herring Blake has this amazing way of bringing the characters to life and making it impossible not to love them. I related to Grace so deeply in so many ways and it was incredible to see parts of myself so well represented in her. The power of ownvoices strikes again!

I also loved learning about Eva and watching her pick herself up from the devastating loss of her mother. She seems a bit lost at first but she really gets into figuring out who she is without her mother, who was a very big part of her life. I also thoroughly adore the brilliant bi representation we get with Grace because oh my gosh how is Ashley Herring Blake writing about me?? (Piano skills sadly not included.) I even found a soft spot for some of the more prickly characters.

The story takes place in a beachside town called Cape Katherine. We’re given enough details about each place to be able to imagine being there, whether it’s standing on the beach, visiting LuMac’s, or simply sitting in Grace’s room. The world is built up just enough to be thoroughly immersive and I love it.

As for the story itself…. this is the part I’ve been having trouble writing out because most of it comes out as [screaming!!!] but I think I’m getting better at articulating my feels for this amazing story.

There are so many things this story focuses on while still maintaining movement toward the end. I felt like the biggest focus of the story was the toxic relationship between Grace and Maggie and the guilt and anxiety that Grace feels as a direct result of being Maggie’s daughter. We get to see Grace learn more about herself as a person in a very coming-of-age way. (Want an LGBT+ coming-of-age without a coming out? Look no further!) She grows quite a bit from the beginning to the end and I really enjoyed watching it.

We get to see the amazing friendship between Grace and Luca. I absolutely loved the platonic love and trust between these two, especially with the amazingly realistic addition of Grace’s anxiety. I related to this aspect so hard where Grace’s anxiety about being good enough occasionally outweighed her knowledge of how much her friend loves her.

Of course, we also got the hopelessly beautiful thing that is Grace and Eva’s relationship. I love that it wasn’t instalove but that they slowly, over time, got to where they did. It was SO BEAUTIFUL!! I still can’t form coherent thoughts on it beyond screaming but just know I love it and I’m so here for it.

I read this book in a single sitting, which actually ended around 3am. I regret nothing. I absolutely adored it from beginning to end. I would not change a single thing!

Overall, I rate How To Make A Wish 5 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Preorder a copy of How To Make A Wish and enjoy it for yourself when it’s released tomorrow, 2 May 2017! A few places you can go to reserve your copy are:

 

About The Author

Ashley Herring Blake is a reader, writer, and mom to two boisterous boys. She holds a Master’s degree in teaching and loves coffee, arranging her books by color, and watching Buffy over and over again on Netflix with her friends. She’s the author of the young adult novels SUFFER LOVE and HOW TO MAKE A WISH.

 

Now… who likes winning things? Everyone, of course! Which is why I’m so excited to let you know this blog tour includes a rafflecopter giveaway! This one is US Only (sorry, international bookworms!)

You can enter through May 5th to win a finished copy of How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Your chances of winning go up when you follow the tour, so here’s the full schedule!

 

26 April

 

27 April

 

28 April

 

29 April

 

30 April

 

1 May

 

2 May

 

A very big thank you to Ashley Herring Blake to writing this book and making it so me and so many others can see ourselves represented on the page. You are a rockstar!!

Another huge thank you to the Fantastic Flying Book Club for allowing me the privilege of participating in this blog tour.

Thank you so much to HMH Publishing for the review copy!

4 thoughts on “​Blog Tour: How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

    1. Thank you! And it’s GORGEOUS isn’t it!! 😍😍

      And I’m so glad because so much of it was me screaming excitedly and having to calm myself down. 😂 It’s really so, so good and I can’t wait to see it in the wild tomorrow!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

