​Blog Tour Interview: Other Breakable Things by Kelley York and Rowan Altwood

Oh my gosh I am excited to be participating in this blog tour for Other Breakable Things! There might be a giveaway later on in the post. Spoiler: there is!!

I’m also super excited that Kelley York and Rowan Altwood have graciously decided to join me here on Vicarious Bookworm and answer a few questions!

 

Thank you so much for joining me today. What first inspired you to write Luc and Evelyn’s story?

Kelley: I’d tried talking Rowan into writing something with me for ages. She came up with Luc and told me to make him a girlfriend. Someone to balance out his jerkiness. The rest of the story was built around them.

 

I really like that Luc and Evelyn came first and the story followed. What are a few things about them that a reader might not know just from reading the story?

Kelley: Evelyn loves animals and she’s always wanted a cat, but her mom wouldn’t let her have one. Undoubtedly, when she lives on her own, she’ll have several of them.

Rowan: Luc is totally not an animal person. He doesn’t like fur on his clothes.

 

I can honestly see that being true about both of them! In the story, there are a lot of music references. What does your writing playlist look like?

Kelley: I always compile playlists for my books, however I can’t write to them. The lyrics distract me. Instead I either need complete silence, or instrumentals (sometimes with vocals I can’t understand). I listened to a lot of E.S. Posthumus, and Thomas Bergersen. “Two Hearts” is one I listened to on repeat a lot.

Rowan: Luc’s playlist is comprised of songs he’d listen to. Queen, The Beatles, Elton John, David Bowie. Helps me get into his headspace.

 

I can’t write with anything more than instrumentals either, but I can definitely see how those songs would help you get into Luc’s headspace. On writing in general… What authors inspire you the most?

Kelley: I’m guilty of not reading as much as I should or want to, due to my schedule. Hannah Moskowitz has been one of my favorites for years. Mira Grant is great at world-building and zombies, Carrie Ryan is a master of eerie horror and environment.

Rowan: Kelley. Otherwise, Janet Fitch and Judy Blume.

 

I have to say… I’m unsurprised that you both have excellent taste in authors. We have time for just one more question. What is the most important thing you wish you knew before you started writing Other Breakable Things?

Kelley: How it was going to end, haha. We had various ideas, but nothing set in stone. It was actually our editors who picked out one of the endings we suggested and told us to go with that one. I also wish our timing had been better. As we were writing, the Death with Dignity act was passed in California, so really, Luc’s trip to Oregon isn’t as necessary taking that into consideration.

 

I have to agree with your editor though…the ending is beautiful. Thank you both so much for stopping by!

So… What’s this book about and is it worth the hype? Keep reading!

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will grant you healing.
Evelyn Abel will fold two thousand if it will bring Luc back to her.

Luc Argent has always been intimately acquainted with death. After a car crash got him a second chance at life—via someone else’s transplanted heart—he tried to embrace it. He truly did. But he always knew death could be right around the corner again.

And now it is.

Sick of hospitals and tired of transplants, Luc is ready to let his failing heart give out, ready to give up. A road trip to Oregon—where death with dignity is legal—is his answer. But along for the ride is his best friend, Evelyn.

And she’s not giving up so easily.

A thousand miles, a handful of roadside attractions, and one life-altering kiss later, Evelyn’s fallen, and Luc’s heart is full. But is it enough to save him? Evelyn’s betting her heart, her life, that it can be.

Right down to the thousandth paper crane.

 

My Review:

I’m going to go ahead and get the Content Warnings out of the way first…

  • Assisted Suicide
  • Sexual Abuse

When I read this book, I was in a bit of a reading slump. I wanted to make sure I finished it before the NetGalley archive date though so I forced myself to pick it up. Bookworms…. I finished this book in a single sitting! Doing that at all for me is big but during a slump? It had me hooked at the preface! I will say that initially I was a little put off by the assisted suicide in the synopsis because of my experience with another book that broaches the topic. I decided to give it a shot (mostly because ORIGAMI) and I was not disappointed.

The characters were developed fairly well. I think the slightly two-dimensional secondary characters can easily be sloughed off as teenage self-centeredness and hard focus on the main characters’ stories. Through the use of changing points-of-view, I got to see the development of Luc and Evelyn through their own thoughts as well as each other’s perceptions. I really think that added so much to the story in this case and it was done really well. I was never confused when the perspective shifted, and while they could have done with a little more development, it was perfectly adequate. I definitely cared what happened to both of them and wanted a happy ending, which my ASOIAF-loving brain has a hard time wrapping around.

The world development was pretty immersive. The places described are mostly places similar to experiences I’ve had at some point in my life. They did visit quite a few locations, so to be able to imagine at least what it might be like to be in each of those places with such a small page count to do it in is quite a feat. Kelley York and Rowan Altwood accomplished this very well, giving me just enough to allow me to visualize the spaces Luc and Evelyn occupy during their road trip.

The story itself is what shines the most. The plot line had me hooked throughout, wondering, feeling. This story evokes so much feeling that it’s easy to forget it’s moving, but it always is. From beginning to end, I was hooked by “what happens next” and waves of different emotions. I felt happy, content, sad, angry, and afraid. It absolutely drew me in and had me laughing or tearing up a bit. Other Breakable Things is such a heartbreakingly beautiful journey and I really enjoyed reading it.

Overall, I rate Other Breakable Things 4 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of Other Breakable Things and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

 

About the Author

Kelley York and Rowan Altwood are a wife and wife writing team living in central California with their daughter and way too many cats. Kelley is the author of Hushed, Made of Stars, and Modern Monsters, and Other Breakable Things is Rowan’s debut.

You can learn more about Kelley and Rowan and their work by visiting:

Kelley York

Rowan Altwood

 

And now…. A giveaway!!

You can enter for the chance to win the Other Breakable Things Prize Pack (US), which includes:

  • Signed Copy of Modern Monsters by Kelley York
  • Origami Crane Kit

OR for my International bookworms:

  • eBook of Modern Monsters by Kelley York
  • $25 Amazon Gift Card

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Thank you so much to Kelley York and Rowan Altwood for writing this amazing story and for stopping by Vicarious Bookworm today. You ladies are the real rock stars! Another huge thank you to Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours for putting this whole blog tour together. It’s always wonderful to be in such great company!

Speaking of company… Here’s the schedule for the rest of the tour! Be sure to stop by and give these hosts some bookish love!

 

10 April

 

11 April

 

12 April

 

13 April

 

14 April

 

17 April

 

18 April

 

19 April

 

20 April

 

21 April

 

24 April

 

25 April

 

26 April

 

27 April

 

28 April

 

Leave a Reply

