Book Blogger Hop 2017 #16

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly Hop that is hosted by Billy @ Ramblings Of A Coffee Addicted Writer. Weekly prompts are given in the form of Blogger submitted (G-rated) questions.

Would you stop reading a book if an element of the plot strongly clashed with your personal beliefs, or would you continue reading until you finished the book?

This one depends. It seems like a bit of a loaded question because there are so many ways in which it can be interpreted. For example, if the personal belief that the plot is clashing with is, say, I exist? Yeah, I’m going to stop reading the book. If the personal belief it clashed with was something like saying the greek gods live among us today? No, I’m going to continue reading even though I don’t believe those gods truly existed to begin with. If I’m already reading the book and it comes to a point where the plot clashes strongly enough, I notate every instance of the clashing and include it in my review. It’s rare that I’ll put down a book I’m already reading for a belief clash, but it will keep me from picking one up if I know about the clash beforehand.

Would you stop reading or would you finish the book?

6 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop 2017 #16

  1. You don’t believe that the Greek gods ever existed?!?!? Have you never seen any of the God of War video games??? Damn……gutted Ging, gutted, I love me some Greek mythology, what an awesome time to be around monster slaying…..wait…..are you telling me that you don’t believe in things like Minotaurs, Hydra’s and Centaurs too????? lol 🙂
    Personal beliefs is a very broad subject, does it mean religious? or just personal? or everything???? To answer though, I guess yeah, I stopped reading a book once because it clashed with a personal belief.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

