A Series of Unfortunate Events Book Tag

Can you believe March is already over? Where did the time go? Anywho, it’s the end of the month, which means it’s time for me to do another book tag!
I found this one that was created by Erica Robyn Reads, whose blog is pretty awesome and you should check it out (after reading this post, of course)! This tag looked fun and dark, which serves my mood well this month. Let’s get started!

 

Bad Beginning  Name a book or a series you had trouble getting into but ended up loving

The Book of the Unnamed Midwife by Meg Elison. It took me a couple tries to get going on reading this one, but once I finally did I had trouble putting it down. It’s such a well written story and I can’t wait to see what Meg Elison comes out with next.

 

The Fire – Name a book that you wouldn’t rush to douse with water if it happened to catch fire

Well, this one is a bit tough because I don’t like book burning, even for asthetic reasons (I’m looking at you, bookstagram) so I don’t know that there is a book I wouldn’t douse if it was on fire. Outside of an apocalyptic event, that is.

 

The Orphans – Name a book duology, trilogy, or series that you wish had been a standalone book

The Paper Magician trilogy by Charlie N. Holmberg. I enjoyed reading this series, but I think the way it flows might have been better as a standalone with separate parts to distinguish time passing instead of separated into three books.

 

Mischievous Schemes – Name a character (or characters) that always seemed up to something

Kaz Brekker from the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. He always has a plan for everything and is often planning things for when his other plans are complete. The man is always four steps ahead.

 

The Eye – Name a book scheduled to be released in 2017 that you’ve had your eye on

The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember! I’m so very excited for this one. F/F mermaids? Yes please!!

 

Disguises – Name a book that you read and loved but would never have picked up if you had judged the book by its cover

A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern. It’s such a beautiful story of coming of age and attempted redemption that I had to love it. The cover isn’t ugly by any means but it’s just not something that would have called to me.

 

The Villain – Who is your favorite book villain?

The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. He’s creepy and selfish and horrible… And human. He’s probably the scariest of all the villains I’ve read because underneath all the horror, he’s still so human with human desires and needs.

 

Letters – If you could write a letter to tell your past self to read a certain book, what book would that be and why?

Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey. I originally bought the book when I was 16. I started it and got to maybe page two a few times but didn’t actually read it until I was 19. It would have saved me so much if I had read it sooner.

 

Clever Inventions – Name an invention from a book that you wish was real

The flying ships in The Ashes and the Sparks by Mary Victoria Johnson. I just think it would be really cool to be able to sail in the sky.

 

Mob Mentality – Name a book that you read solely based on the recommendation of others but didn’t enjoy

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. I heard it was supposed to be a badass f/f with a princess, but it didn’t quite turn out to be as good a story as I had hoped. If you’d like, you can find my full review of it here.

 

The V. F. D. – Name a book or series you’ve read that is about a secret society

Black Iris by Elliot Wake. It’s probably the most interesting secret society set in present times that I’ve read so far. It’s also really, really dark so if you’re into that definitely check it out. If you want, you can find my review of it here.

 

The Sugar Bowl – Name a book that you used to own, but can no longer find

Anne Rice’s Mayfair Witches series. I had the whole thing because the library wouldn’t let me borrow books for a while but I haven’t seen it in years. I suppose that’s what happens when you move as often as I do.

 

Unhappy Endings – What book or series did you feel ended badly or in a way that you did not like (NO SPOILERS!)

I really didn’t like the way that Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson ended. I won’t get into that because spoilers. Spoilers everywhere. If you’d like, you can check out my minimal-spoiler review here

 

I’m not going to tag anyone specifically this month. If you’d like to complete it, please do! If you post it on your blog, please feel free to put a link. In the comments section so I can check out your answers. 

4 thoughts on “A Series of Unfortunate Events Book Tag

    1. She’s one of my few auto-buy authors. Definitely check her work out! I will say I liked her Six of Crows duology better than the Grisha trilogy but it’s all SO GOOD. 😍

      Like

Leave a Reply

