​Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Goodreads Synopsis:

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.


Favorite Exerpts:

Page 10

Aglionby Academy was the number one reason Blue had developed her two rules: One, stay away from boys, because they were trouble. And two, stay away from Aglionby boys because they were bastards.

Page 155

“Ah,” said Calla, in a very, very knowing way. “Now I see.”

“Don’t psychoanaluze me,” her mother said.

“I already have. And I say again, ‘ah.'”


My Review:

Let’s start off with a few Trigger warnings, shall we?

  • Joke About Suicide (Page 56)
  • Mention/Description of Attempted Suicide (Pages 90-91)

I really liked Blue and I enjoyed getting to know more about her and her family dynamic. Some of the characters, like Blue, were well-developed but others were kind of one dimensional. I was a little disappointed with the adding of questions to some characters while no answers were provided. I understand that asking the right question is part of development but when no or few answers are supplied, the whole thing is just frustrating for me.

The world is built just enough that I was able to almost see it, but it wasn’t descriptive enough for me to find it immersive. There are certain places that get more building up than others, which is likely because some places are frequented more than others by the characters. I did notice that if the characters were in a place I haven’t seen a similarity for, I had trouble imagining them clearly because my memory lacks the details to fill in the holes.

The one thing that was slightly immersive about The Raven Boys was the plot, but it wasn’t without its problems. It was a bit choppy, likely caused by the way Maggie Steifvater used multiple narrators. At best, the extra point-of-view gave us an enlightening view of the thoughts and actions of the characters used: Blue, Gansey, and Adam. At worst though, it was just confusing. I’m not sure that changing it to a single narrator would help because of how much each perspective gives to the story but the way they’re used almost hinders the story’s potential in a way.

The ending… y’all know how much I hate cliff-hangers. So when you combine a cliff-hanger ending with an anti-climactic conclusion, you get a frustrated bookworm. I have so many questions at the end of the book and it’s super frustrating. 

I did absolutely love the dialogue though, especially between Maura, Orla, Persephone, and Calla. In fact, the dialogue is probably the best part of this book in my opinion. This series is so hyped up so I went into reading it with high expectations, but it fell pretty flat. My enjoyment of Blue and overall curiosity will make me read the next book, The Dream Thieves, but I’m not sure that it’ll be any time soon.

Overall, I rate The Raven Boys 3 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of The Raven Boys and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

For more information about Maggie Stiefvater and her work, visit her website

8 thoughts on “​Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Well, at least all four books in the series are out now, if you chose to continue. Waiting for The Raven King was challenging, as T was disappointed that the release date was moved back. It’s interesting to reread (or listen, because I do this series in audio most of the time) after having read the entire series because those holes are filled in.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’m glad all the books are out already so I can just read through them. I’m lucky enough she’s coming to where I live this week and I’m kinda freaking out because no one comes here. 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the honest review. Stiefvater is taking some heat on Twitter today from #Ownvoices for her new series. Did you read The Tearling Series and I missed it? Because people love that series and now I’m at Book 3 and I just don’t care.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I saw she was taking some heat. It’s kinda disappointing so I’ll probably not go see her while she’s here. Which makes me a little sad because literally no authors come here ever. This is the first book from her I’ve read though so I missed all of the rest lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

