​The Book Blogger Hop 2017 #8

The Book Blogger Hop is a weekly Hop that was originally created by Jennifer @ Crazy-For-Books, but is hosted by Billy @ Ramblings Of A Coffee Addicted Writer. Weekly prompts are given in the form of Blogger submitted (G-rated) questions.

This week’s question is: How do you feel about books with multiple narrators?

It really depends on the book and how the multiple narrators are handled. In series like A Song of Ice and Fire, where the narrators are separated into chapters and you know which character is the focus going into the chapter, it’s nice because it’s a good way to see what all the characters are doing in their various sections of the world.

I also enjoyed it in A Step Toward Falling where it’s narrated in first person by two of the main characters. It helped give a more full perspective of the story and added a dimension that otherwise we wouldn’t have gotten from the story.

So generally, as long as it’s done well, I think multiple narrators can enhance the story and I enjoy it.

6 thoughts on “​The Book Blogger Hop 2017 #8

  1. I agree! It can really make or break a book, which is hard. I don’t think I have ever encountered a book with multiple narrators that did not split each narration into a chapter. I think if it wasn’t done that way, it would be way too confusing.

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In throne of glass they split mid chapter sometimes but I don’t think Maas makes it super confusing and usually it is pretty clear whose perspective it is. I don’t mind changing perspectives but I have read books where authors have just made it too confusing to tell who was talking.

    Like

  3. Yes! I think multiple narrators can enhance a story too. Like you, I tend to prefer it when the different views are separated by chapter breaks. it definitely makes it easier to follow that way. I hope you have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

