Review: Drink Deep by Chloe Neill

Goodreads Synopsis:

Clouds are brewing over Cadogan House, and recently turned vampire Merit can’t tell if this is the darkness before the dawn or the calm before the storm. With the city iself in turmoil over paranormals and the state threatening to pass a paranormal registration act, times haven’t been this precarious for vampires since they came out of the closet. If only they could lay low for a bit, and let the mortals calm down.

That’s when the waters of Lake Michigan suddenly turn pitch black-and things really start getting ugly.

Chicago’s mayor insists it’s nothing to worry about, but Merit knows only the darkest magic could have woven a spell powerful enough to change the very fabric of nature. She’ll have to turn to friends old and new to find out who’s behind this, and stop them before it’s too late for vampires and humans alike.


Favorite Exerpts:

Page 105:

“What do you want from me?”

His eyes gleamed. “Nothing at all, Merit, except for you to be who you are.”

“Which is?”

“A fitting adversary.” Perhaps at the chilled expression on my face, he sat back in his chair, a smug expression on his. “And I do think I’ll enjoy this particular round.”

I had the distinct impression I wouldn’t.

“I’m not engaging in games with you, Tate.”

He clucked his tongue. “Don’t you see Merit? The game have already begun. And I believe it’s my move.”


My Review:

While reading Drink Deep, I couldn’t help think that somehow Chloe Neill was predicting the future of America with Merit’s noting how unconstitutional it is to have citizens be registered to a list and tracked constantly. These references were few and far between, but the feeling was still there.

The world of Chicagoland was pretty well built up in the previous novels, but it was reinforced and built upon more in Drink Deep. A lot of the world building is around the food, which kills me because I always felt so hungry when I was reading it.

The characters grew a bit during the story, though I was pretty thoroughly confused by the seeming abrupt shift in the character of Morgan in Drink Deep from what it was in the previous novels. I mean, yes he was a little immature in the other books but wow did that get amplified here. On the other hand, I was impressed with how much Merit grew and changed during this novel.

Okay now that I’ve gotten the technical aspects out of the way, holy freaking plot twist. Did anyone see that coming? I sure didn’t! I’m not saying I’m unhappy about it but wow… Surprise! I’m irritated with the cliff-hanger ending, especially since I won’t be able to read the next book for a month or so due to my overbooked schedule. I am so very excited to see where the series goes though and will be picking up the next book as soon as my schedule allows!

Overall, I rate Drink Deep 4 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of Drink Deep and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

For more information about Chloe Neill and her work, visit her website.

Have you read the Chicagoland Vampires series? What books would you recommend to someone who enjoyed this book/series?

Leave a Reply

