​Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.


Favorite Exerpts:

Page 22:

I didn’t want the prince from the folktales or some milk-skinned, honey-eyed youth who said his greetings and proclaimed his love in the same breath. I wanted a love thick with time, as inscrutable as if a lathe had carved it from night and as familiar as the marrow in my bones.


My Review:

The first thing I noticed about The Star-Touched Queen is the gorgeous cover. The blurb looked really good and came recommended by Aentee at Read At Midnight, so I read it for the Lumos prompt in the #DAReadAThon. It also fulfills the January prompt of Diverse Reads 2017, which is to read a book based on or inspired by a diverse folktale, culture, or mythology.

Immediately after opening this book, I noticed something different about it: the Acknowledgements are at the beginning where usually I find them at the end. I decided to mention this in the review because it surprised me and struck me as more sincere to have them at the beginning. With what wasn’t said, it told me, “Before you read what I’ve poured myself into, let me acknowledge those who helped me get it from me and into your hands.” I really loved that and appreciate that it was done this way.

The world building is exquisite. An amazing amount of detail is given through Maya’s experiences but it doesn’t tak away from the flow of the story at all, but actually adds to it and pushes it along. The details are unique and creative while still staying true to the source material.

The characters are continually developed through the story, which makes it feel natural and gives everything a nice flow. The characters also build upon each other in beautiful ways that further the story. My favorite character is probably Kamala because the dialogue is just brilliant. In fact, the dialogue throughout the story is brilliant, but Kamala brings an extra unashamedly wicked element to it.

The Star-Touched Queen is an absolutely stunning novel. I’m honestly already planning to reread it later this year. I can’t wait to read more from Roshani Chokshi and I’m especially excited for the publication of her upcoming sequel to this book, A Crown of Wishes, on 28 March 2017.

Overall, I rate The Star-Touched Queen 5 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of The Star-Touched Queen and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

For more information about Roshani Chokshi, visit her website.

Leave a Reply

