​Review: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school in Lambertville, Tennessee. Like any other girl, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. There’s a reason why she transferred schools for her senior year, and why she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

And then she meets Grant Everett. Grant is unlike anyone she’s ever met—open, honest, kind—and Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she finds herself yearning to share with Grant everything about herself…including her past. But she’s terrified that once she tells Grant the truth, he won’t be able to see past it.

Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew.


Favorite Exerpts:

Page 50:

“Just open your eyes and see them the way they really are. They’re all beautiful, okay?”


My Review:

I’m gonna let you know up front If I Was Your Girl needs a Trigger Warning for Suicide.

The characters are developed just enough to make them believable. While I feel like we could have gotten to know some of them a little better, there was enough given for the characters to feel like real individuals and have the interactions be believable.

The world of the book is built up enough that it was easy to see myself in it. It was really easy for me to drop myself into the settings Amanda found herself in.

The story itself is brilliant and I was unable to put it down, leading to accidentally staying up until 2:30 am. I absolutely that the story is split between the present and the past because it gave me a great view of who Amanda I couldn’t have gotten just from her present timeline.

I’m cisgendered so I haven’t been on the journey Amanda embarks on through the story. Meredith Russo has been on that journey that, which is why Amanda’s story rings with so much honesty and authenticity. Is this the story of every trans person? No. But it is a beautiful story of one trans girl and the journey she embarks on to become and accept herself. I absolutely love this book and I look forward to reading more of Meredith Russo’s work.

Overall, I rate If I Was Your Girl 5 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order a copy of BOOK and enjoy it for yourself! A few places you can go to get your hands on a copy are:

For more information about Meredith Russo and her work, visit her Goodreads.

I read this book as my Protego for the Dumbledore’s Army Read-A-Thon because it’s one of the #ownvoices novels I’ve been wanting to read for a while.

I also read this book as a part of the #BeatTheBacklist Challenge, which I’m using to trim down my TBR backlist a bit because oh my is it painful to look at!

3 thoughts on “​Review: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo 

Leave a Reply

