Happy New Year Book Tag

It’s the end of the month again! 2016 has been such a great reading year for me (though I think we can all agree that sentiment has been contained to reading). This is the time of year we tend to most look back and forward at the same time, so when I found this tag on The Candid Cover I knew it had to be the tag I complete this month. Here we go!

The best series I’ve read in 2016 is the Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo. It’s brilliant. If you haven’t read it yet, do yourself a big favor and pick it up.

The best standalone book I’ve read this year is Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult. It changed the way I see the world in the span of 470 pages. It’s brilliant and beautiful and

I’ve found quite a few wonderful authors this year who I look forward to reading more from in the new year. If I had to narrow it down to five, I’d have to say (in no particular order because I enjoy all of them SO MUCH): Leigh Bardugo, Tahereh Mafi, Adam Silvera, Gwenda Bond, and Nicola Yoon.

Hands down this HAS to be Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I can. Not. WAIT!! This novel was so beautiful and the casting of the film is perfect. To say I’m excited is a huge understatement!

Um… I can’t think of any I’d be okay with kissing, even under the pretense of a New Years kiss.

I honestly believe my TBR would smother the strongest of readers, so my top five for next year are:

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Of Fire And Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

I’m hoping to read at least 60 books in 2017. I would raise the number higher, but 2017 is looking to be a pretty unpredictable year and I get pretty discouraged if I can’t meet a goal like that. However, if I hit the 60 I’ll likely raise the number but I figure, even if the year is hectic and horrible, 60 should be manageable.

I’ll probably participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge again in 2017 just because it’s an easy (and lazy) way for me to keep track of exactly how many books I’ve read. I’m also going to be participating in the #DAReadAThon in January and the #BeatTheBacklist Challenge through 2017.

I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions because I feel like by doing that I’m setting myself up for failure. Resolutions are so vague! Instead, I set incremential goals based on the end goal. This year, I’m planning to read at least 60 books, which puts me at about one to two books each week. I also plan to continue building up my use of the French language, which requires the daily goal of practicing for at least an hour. Finally, I would love to continue blogging until I get to at least my one year mark. I have a horrible habit of giving up on things, even if I enjoy them. That likely means what I post and how I post it will continue to change until I find what is most sustainable and enjoyable for me.

I tag any one of you who would like to complete this book tag! Feel free to link back to this post or post the link to your tag in the comments section.

Happy New Year!

15 thoughts on “Happy New Year Book Tag

      1. It does seem that way, doesn’t it? 😦 I keep hearing Winds of Winter is being proofed now. We can only hope! Though I’m completely serious that when it comes out, all will be radio silence from the ginger ninja. I’m just glad I took notes while reading so I won’t have to do a full reread 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think the worst thing is, he keeps releasing chapters for people to read and most would prefer he gets on with the book, also, you see so many authors release a book per year and it takes him years and years to release a book. It’s all good though, plenty of other awesome authors out there to read. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Agreed! I decided not to read any more of the released chapters because he never says where in the book they are. I’m holding out for the book release. Thank goodness there are so many awesome authors to read in the meantime! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

