Harry Potter Moment of the Week – 1 December 2016

Harry Potter Moment of the Week is a weekly meme created by Leah at Uncorked Thoughts and hosted by the wonderful Lunar Rainbows!

This week’s topic is: If you could change one thing from the fourth film, what would it be?

I maintain my belief that changing anything about Harry Potter is very nearly blasphemy, but… in the fourth movie I would change the same thing as I would change in the fourth book, were I required to change anything. I absolutely hate that Cedric had to die and I would change it so he doesn’t touch the portkey, thus keeping him from entering the graveyard. I understand how it helped develop the interacting characters, but I still don’t like that an innocent like Cedric had to die.

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week – 1 December 2016

  1. Hahah! I know what you mean: as far as the books go, I wouldn’t change a single thing! The movies are trickier for me though because they changed things from the books and I’m touchy about stuff like that! I agree with you though: poor Cedric was innocent and honestly, Harry tried to be nice by having Cedric and him win together and to have Cedric die because of it…it’s just awful…and Harry didn’t need to blame himself for someone else’s death 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I honestly just couldn’t see past Cedric dying to look at the rest on this one. I do dislike how much they changed but I guess I understand the time thing… still if anyone made a full length leaving nothing out, I’d watch it! 🙂

      Like

  2. I agree with you about the tragedy of Cedric’s death, but as far as story goes, it served it’s purpose really really well. I remember the first time I read it I actually gasped and closed the book. I remember thinking to myself, this is where things change, this is not just a kids story anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

