The Coffee Shop Book Tag

I found this done by Lizzy @ MyLittleBookBlog and think it looks like a perfect fun combination of two of my favorite things: books and coffee shops. Especially since (in places that aren’t Florida) it’s cool enough to sit out and enjoy a steaming cup of joy. Let’s do it!

Black: A Series That’s Tough To Get Into But Has Hardcore Fans

The A Song Of Ice And Fire series by George R. R. Martin is a bit intimidating in its size and complexity, which makes it a bit tough to get into. Some of the fans are VERY hardcore. I think this has only been enhanced by the HBO series. Before you jump down my throat on that one, I have read and loved all of them and am (impatiently) awaiting Winds of Winter.


Peppermint Mocha: A Book That Gets More Popular During The Winter Or A Festive Time Of Year

I don’t know about more popular but when the temperature starts dropping, I get into a J. K. Rowling kind of mood. I tend to re-read at least the first few Harry Potter books around the holidays. It feels like meeting up with old friends and just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.


Hot Chocolate: A Favorite Children’s Book

This one is tough to answer because there are so many good ones…. But I probably have to say Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss. I can still read and enjoy this one, even as an adult. I also love that, like much of the Dr’s work, the story is also a lesson.


Double Shot Of Espresso: A Book That Kept You On The Edge Of Your Seat From Start To Finish

I could not put down The Sight by Chloe Neill. I was completely enveloped by the story… every time I got to a spot where I thought I might take a break (or a nap), I was shoved right back to the edge of my seat.


Starbucks: A Book You See Everywhere

It’s likely because the movie (relatively) recently went to DVD, but I can’t seem to go anywhere without seeing Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Excellent book. If you haven’t read it, you should. With tea. And a box of tissues (or two)!


The Hipster Coffee Shop: A Book By An Indie Author (A Shout Out)

Warmstone by Chris Speck is really one of the most original things I’ve read in a while, which is saying something because it seems like a lot of ideas are simply being recycled these days.


Oops! I Accidentally Got Decaf: A Book You Were Expecting More From

When I tucked into The Invoice by Jonas Karlsson, I had read a few reviews of his other works and had pretty high hopes. I was pretty sad when it turned out to just be about a guy who got a large bill in the mail.


The Perfect Blend: Name A Book Or Series That Was Both Bitter And Sweet, But Ultimately Satisfying

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult has so much harsh reality in it that it’s naturally bittersweet. The world, characters, and struggles of those characters are so perfectly real that you can’t help seeing it in everyday life. Reading it has definitely changed how I see the world. This is probably one of the most relevant and satisfying novels I’ve read this year. Please read it.


Green Tea: Name A Book Or Series That Is Quietly Beautiful

I really enjoyed how Star Sand by Roger Pulvers presented such an ugly thing in such a beautiful way. It’s definitely one of the few books I’ve read that I could unquestioningly call quietly beautiful.


Chai Tea: Name A Book Or Series That Makes You Dream Of Far Off Places

Hands down this one has to be The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series by Michael Scott. The characters travel all over the world, and into shadowrealms, and discover new truths about what humanity believes is its history. It’s an incredible series that always makes me dream of the places they visit or discuss.


Earl Grey: Name Your Favorite Classic

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll will always be my go to classic. I have had a not so mild obsession with all things Alice and, by default, playing cards since before I can remember. We’re all mad here!


I hope you’ve had as much fun reading this as I’ve had doing it! I’m going to be in denial and drink some hot chocolate under the ceiling fan… but first! I should probably tag someone with whom I would love to enjoy a warm cup of deliciousness, so I’m tagging Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek to complete this tag next!

2 thoughts on “The Coffee Shop Book Tag

  1. Lol at game of Thrones, you do have a point about the hardcore fans though and everyone who likes the series is eagerly awaiting Winds of Winter though I have a sneaking suspicion that the raven GRRM sent to deliver it has got lost somewhere! 🙂

    Thanks for the tag, I shall see about doing it as there’s some questions I’m not sure how to answer! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

