Review: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone with an infusion of Latin American tradition in this highly original fantasy adventure.

“A seamless blend of fantasy and Latinx culture, Labyrinth Lostfeels both strikingly authentic and badly needed: in the overwhelming white world of YA literature, a cast of characters comprised almost entirely of people of color—combined with a fantasy world both inspired by a non-white culture and written by a member of that culture—is sure to change the lives of many teens who rarely see themselves reflected in the books they read. But there is another layer of importance to the novel, and that is Alex’s bisexuality. Presented matter-of-factly, without any cheesy plot twist attached, her bisexuality becomes visible but not defining, and the mere fact of its healthy portrayal makes it essential to a group of queer people long erased in mainstream media.” –Lambda Literary


My Review:

The world building in this book is incredible! There’s so much detail given of each location Alex finds herself in without interrupting the flow of the story at all. The characters are developed just enough that I felt like I had known Alex and her sisters all my life. I loved getting to know the characters through Alex’s experiences with them.

It was such an immersive read. This is definitely one of those books I finished and had trouble coming to the realization that I am, in fact, not Alex the bruja and I do not actually live anywhere near New York City. I loved this book from beginning to end (which explains why it only took me an afternoon to devour it). I can’t wait to read more from Zoraida Córdova!

Overall, I rate Labyrinth Lost 5 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order Labyrinth Lost from Amazon US or Amazon UK and enjoy it for yourself!

For more information about Zoraida Córdova and her work, visit her website.

Leave a Reply

