Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Goodreads Synopsis:

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Shadow and Bone is the first installment in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy.


My Review:

I actually had not read the Grisha Trilogy before reading the Six of Crows Duology (which is brilliant, by the way, in case you were curious). After reading the Six of Crows Duology, I had quite high expectations going into this novel. Leigh Bardugo blew me away yet again.

The world and characters of Shadow and Bone are extremely developed. The way everything is portrayed gives you everything you need to experience everything exactly as Alina does without having the story seem at all slow.

I think much of this comes down to the writer’s style because everything I’ve read from Leigh Bardugo immerses the reader in the world and storyline. This book became unputdownable around the top of page 2 so, if you’re planning to pick it up (and you should be), clear your day.

Overall, I rate Shadow and Bone 5 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order Shadow and Bone, Book 1 of the Grisha Trilogy, from Amazon US or Amazon UK and enjoy it for yourself!

For more information about Leigh Bardugo and her work, visit her website.

2 thoughts on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I’ve been waiting to read THIS^^ before getting into Six of Crows (just because I’m a little OCD like that) I feel like I’m the last blogger alive that hasn’t read Shadow and Bone yet so I was excited when I saw your review for it! I’m so happy you loved it so much! I own a copy so I need to read it ASAP 😀

    Like

    1. I actually had never heard of her until I read Six of Crows (I know, horrible of me) and found out about the Grisha trilogy sometime while waiting for Crooked Kingdom to come out. Definitely worth a read 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

