Review: The King’s Traitor by Jeff Wheeler

Goodreads Synopsis:

Against all odds, Owen Kiskaddon grew from frightened boy to confident youth to trusted officer in the court of Kingfountain–and watched its regent, Severn Argentine, grow ever more ruthless and power mad. Robbed of his beloved protector, his noble mentor, and his true love, Owen has anticipated the day when the king he fears and reviles, yet loyally serves, will be toppled. Now, as Severn plots a campaign of conquest, the time has come to take action…and Owen’s destiny demands that he lead the strike.

Ordered to incite war with a neighboring kingdom, Owen discovers it’s beautiful, reclusive ruler, whose powerful magic might even exceed his own. Together they mount a daring plot to overthrow the corrupt monarch, crown the rightful heir, and defeat the prophesied curse threatening Kingfountain with wintry death. But Severn’s evil is as bottomless as the fabled Deep Fathoms. To keep his ill-gotten throne, he’ll gladly spill the blood of enemies and innocents alike.

 

My Review:

Having waited to read this third and final novel in the Kingfountain series since early June, I jumped at the chance to read it before its 6 September release. I am not the least bit disappointed! While it could be read as a standalone, I highly recommend reading the entire series for full appreciation of the wonder that is Kingfountain.

Similar to the first two novels of the series, there are plot twists and turns at just the right places. As soon as I became comfortable in my knowledge of something, that comfort was yanked out from under me and I was left yearning for answers. Simply stated, this book is unputdownable! (I finished it around 2am the same day I began devouring it!) While I will greatly miss the world and characters within it, I could not ask for a finer conclusion.

Overall, I rate The King’s Traitor 5 out of 5 bookworms.

Don’t just take my word for it. Order The King’s Traitor from Amazon US or Amazon UK to receive it when it’s released tomorrow and enjoy it for yourself! This book will also be available for free on Kindle Unlimited!

For more information about Jeff Wheeler and his work, visit his website.

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for this honest review.

I read this book as part of my Current Top 7 TBR Tag. Find the tag and what other books are in my Current Top 7 TBR Tag HERE!

Leave a Reply

