Current Top 7 TBR Tag

I’ve never done a book tag before so I’m excited to be doing this one! While my TBR is a bit intimidating, I have seen people in the past manage to narrow theirs down to 7 TBRs that feel most pressing at the moment. I tend to fluctuate between genres pretty frequently, so between that and the size of my list I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do it. Because I’m stubborn, I had to try anyway. So, here are my current top 7 TBR books (in no particular order)!


Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Goodreads Synopsis:
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Why I chose it:
I read and loved Six of Crows, but it ended in a plot twist of a cliff hanger. I’m so excited I’ll be able to read Crooked Kingdom in less than a month! The story in this series is presented in a way that is so clear and easy to believe that there isn’t any room for questioning the reality it.

Want to enjoy Crooked Kingdom too? Preorder a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK to receive it when it is published 27 September 2016!

 

And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Goodreads Synopsis:
Khaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations.

In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, Hosseini explores the many ways in which families nurture, wound, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another; and how often we are surprised by the actions of those closest to us, at the times that matter most.

Following its characters and the ramifications of their lives and choices and loves around the globe—from Kabul to Paris to San Francisco to the Greek island of Tinos—the story expands gradually outward, becoming more emotionally complex and powerful with each turning page.

Why I chose it:
I have read and loved both The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns. If you haven’t experienced Khaled Hosseini’s writing, I am so sorry. Please remedy that ASAP. The characters he creates go through situations I could not possibly understand, yet the way he writes them I find completely relatable.

Want to enjoy And The Mountains Echoed too? Order a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK!

I finally read it! You can find my review HERE.

 

Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill

Goodreads Synopsis:
Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but I was doing fine until Chicago’s vampires announced their existence to the world. When a rogue vampire attacked me, I was lucky he only got a sip. Another bloodsucker scared him off and decided the best way to save my life was to make me the walking undead.

Now I’ve traded sweating over my thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed,
four-hundred-year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects my gratitude—and servitude. Right…

But someone’s out to get me. Is it the rogue vampire who bit me? A vamp from a rival House? An angry mob bearing torches?

My initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war—and there will be blood.

Why I chose it:
I recently read Chloe Neill’s The Sight and fell in love with her writing style. She has a way of making even the most fantastical of things seem perfectly logical. I look forward to reading more from her and what better place to begin than with her well established Chicagoland Vampires Series?

Want to enjoy Some Girls Bite too? Order a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK!

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads Synopsis:
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Why I chose it:
With everyone talking about the upcoming release of Empire of Storms, the series was brought to my attention. It looks very interesting and I can’t wait to dive in!

Want to enjoy Throne of Glass too? Order a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK!

I finally read it! You can find my review HERE.

 

Eros by Helen Harper

Goodreads Synopsis:
William Shakespeare once wrote that, “Cupid is a knavish lad, thus to make poor females mad.” The trouble is that Cupid himself would probably agree…

As probably the last person in the world who’d appreciate hearts, flowers and romance, Coop is convinced that true love doesn’t exist – which is rather unfortunate considering he’s also known as Cupid, the God of Love. He’d rather spend his days drinking, womanising and generally having as much fun as he possible can. As far as he’s concerned, shooting people with bolts of pure love is a waste of his time…but then his path crosses with that of shy and retiring Skye Sawyer and nothing will ever be quite the same again.

Eros is a seductive re-telling of the classic Greek myth, Cupid and Psyche.

Why I chose it:
I absolutely love Helen Harper’s Dreamweaver Series. While I anxiously await the third installment of that series, I came across another series by her about Greek mythology. I’ve always been a big fan of various types of mythology and am curious to see what her particular writing style has done for it.

Want to enjoy Eros too? Order a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK!

 

The King’s Traitor by Jeff Wheeler

Goodreads Synopsis:
Against all odds, Owen Kiskaddon grew from frightened boy to confident youth to trusted officer in the court of Kingfountain—and watched its regent, Severn Argentine, grow ever more ruthless and power-mad. Robbed of his beloved protector, his noble mentor, and his true love, Owen has anticipated the day when the king he fears and reviles, yet loyally serves, will be toppled. Now, as Severn plots a campaign of conquest, the time has come to take action…and Owen’s destiny demands that he lead the strike.

Ordered to incite war with a neighboring kingdom, Owen discovers its beautiful, reclusive ruler, whose powerful magic might even exceed his own. Together they mount a daring plot to overthrow the corrupt monarch, crown the rightful heir, and defeat the prophesied curse threatening Kingfountain with wintry death. But Severn’s evil is as bottomless as the fabled Deep Fathoms. To keep his ill-gotten throne, he’ll gladly spill the blood of enemies and innocents alike.

Why I chose it:
I fell in love with this series from The Queen’s Poisoner and have long awaited this final installment. Owen and Elysabeth have won me over with their adventures. The world created is so well developed it may as well be a mere boat ride away. I can’t wait to get my hands on this final installment and find out what Owen and Elysabeth will do next!

Want to enjoy The King’s Traitor too? Preorder a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK to receive it when it is published on 6 September 2016! This book will also be available free on Kindle Unlimited!

I finally read it! You can find my review HERE.
 

Girl on a Wire by Gwenda Bond

Goodreads Synopsis:
Sixteen-year-old Jules Maroni’s dream is to follow in her father’s footsteps as a high-wire walker. When her family is offered a prestigious role in the new Cirque American, it seems that Jules and the Amazing Maronis will finally get the spotlight they deserve. But the presence of the Flying Garcias may derail her plans. For decades, the two rival families have avoided each other as sworn enemies.

Jules ignores the drama and focuses on the wire, skyrocketing to fame as the girl in a red tutu who dances across the wire at death-defying heights. But when she discovers a peacock feather—an infamous object of bad luck—planted on her costume, Jules nearly loses her footing. She has no choice but to seek help from the unlikeliest of people: Remy Garcia, son of the Garcia clan matriarch and the best trapeze artist in the Cirque.

As more mysterious talismans believed to possess unlucky magic appear, Jules and Remy unite to find the culprit. And if they don’t figure out what’s going on soon, Jules may be the first Maroni to do the unthinkable: fall.

Why I chose it:
I’ve heard so much about Gwenda and how wonderful she is that I have to find out for myself. This is the first book in her Girl on a Wire Series and I hope to enjoy reading it as much as everyone else seems to!

Want to enjoy Girl On A Wire too? Order a copy from Amazon US or Amazon UK! This book is also available for free on Kindle Unlimited!

I finally read it! You can find my review HERE.


I know most of those are part of series, which could be considered cheating, but I’m OK with that. Narrowing my list down to 7 was difficult enough as it was, but still fun!

I managed to narrow down my TBR to my current top 7. Let’s see if you can do it! If you feel like sharing, please post the link to your completed tag in the comments!

One thought on “Current Top 7 TBR Tag

Leave a Reply

