Why I Decided Not To Read The Cursed Child or Pottermore

There’s a lot of hype surrounding the new Harry Potter related release, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Some people love it, some people hate it… It doesn’t seem like there’s much in between on that. Personally, I love the Harry Potter series to the point of obsession. If I’m going to either love or hate the Cursed Child, I would rather not risk it. 

I understand it is a play script that was not actually written by the great JK Rowling and would jump at the chance to go see the play itself! But if the book will in any way make me doubt my love of Hogwarts, Diagon Alley, and Dumbledore I prefer to remain in the dark.

Getting to Pottermore… I’m sure they will be an interesting trio but I don’t know right now whether or not they will add to my love of the Harry Potter world or take some of it away. I remain stubborn in my refusal to give up any of my Harry Potter love, no matter how curious I am. 

So until I am able to see the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play in person or am able to know the Pottermore series will effectively add to my love of the Wizarding World, I choose not to read them and instead will continue to re-read the Harry Potter series at least once a year. Because Harry Potter.

You can let me know if you agree or disagree in the comments! (Please try to keep it clean.)

Leave a Reply

