Bookish 30 & Birthdays

As today is my birthday (woohoo!!), I thought what better way to spend it than in my literary castle? I found these bookish 30 questions and decided it’d be a fun way to get to know each other. Here goes!

1. Do you get sick reading in the car? 

Very. I like to lie to myself and pretend I won’t but eventually my stomach starts roiling and backseat reading becomes backseat nap time.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why? 

The author who’s writing style I think is the most unique is George R. R. Martin because he’s the only author I’ve ever read who consistently has no qualms about killing off point-of-view characters en masse.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer. 

Harry Potter! 1. The character development doesn’t stop. They continue to grow and gain more depth as the series continues instead of simply maintaining the initial description. 2. The way it’s written makes it feel as though it could potentially be real. 3. It lacks the cliche of so many other series.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)? 

Yes and it is a must! It keeps my books (obviously), tablet and charger, paper and post-it’s, a pen, a tube of lip balm, and a couple bandages in case of paper cuts.

5. Do you smell your books? 

Oh yes… My books. Bookstore books. Library books. It’s a thing. 

6. Books with or without little illustrations? 

Without illustrations. I like that I’m forced to conjure it all with what the author has chosen to include and leave out.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? 

When I was younger, I absolutely LOVED the Babysitter’s Club. I tried reading one recently and realized how horrible they are. Thank goodness for Harry Potter saving me from my bad book habits!

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share! 

Well, I mentioned loving the Babysitter’s Club… There was another girl up the street from me who also loved the Babysitter’s Club. We would trade massive amounts of books at a time. It never occurred to us to use backpacks or gym bags for this… So we would walk up the street carrying garbage bags full of books. I remember people looking at me sideways but didn’t realize until I was older that they thought I was lugging garbage all the way to my friend’s house and back.

9. What is the tiniest book on your shelf? 

The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr. and E. B. White.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf? 

The Complete Works of Edgar Allen Poe.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future being an author? 

I read more than I write, but I do both. I’m not sure I’ll ever be a published author, but I’ll always be an author.

12. When did you get into reading? 

Very young. I first learned to read when I was 3 and haven’t been able to stop since!

13. What is your favorite classic book? 

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

14. In school what was your best subject? 

I was always really good in school so I didn’t really have a “best subject.” My favorite subject was Spanish Language and Culture because it was something I could use immediately in everyday life instead of being confined to use in the classroom.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do? 

I would probably either give it to someone who I thought would enjoy it or donate it to the local library so that many other people might be able to enjoy it.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games? 

I’m not really sure how similar it is but, as far as the heavily dystopian society goes, I think the Forager Series by Peter R. Stone is somewhat similar to the Hunger Games. Also, in relation to the magical type world within the world we all see, the Alchemyst Series by Michael Scott is somewhat similar to Harry Potter.

17. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging? 

The Internet is vast and I am easily distracted.

18. What is your favorite word? 

“Yet.” It implies so much that may or may not happen in the future with only a single syllable.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above? 

I’m a bit of a combination of a nerd and a dork. I have odd interests and am often silly, yet I’m often also “boringly studious.” One of my odd interests? Reading math, chemistry, biology, and physics related textbooks. To many people, that’s as boring as it gets.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why? 

Fairies are more magical to me.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why? 

Shapeshifters because how cool would it be to turn into something else!

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why? 

Spirits because they’re less overdone and more creepy.

23. Best SERIES of 2016 so far…? 

I’ve read so many great series this year so far that this is a toughy… I think at this moment right now I have to say it’s the Kingfountain Series by Jeff Wheeler.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love? 

Forbidden Love! 

25. Worst reaction to the ending of a book? 

I saw the ending coming from about the middle of the book but continued to read, hoping the author would prove me wrong. They didn’t. I couldn’t read anything for a few days afterward. I literally let the ending of this book ruin me for other books. It was horrible.

26. How many books do you read on average per week? 

That depends what I’m reading. If it’s a George R. R. Martin or Jacqueline Carey week, I might only read 2 or 3 books. If it’s books with less than 1000 pages, my average is around 10 books per week.

27. Worst book you read this year? 

So far this year I’ve been pretty lucky. I don’t think I’ve even really read any books I strongly disliked. 

28. Favorite Graphic Novels/Illustrated Stories you read in 2016? 

Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl.

29. Books that have made you ugly cry? 

I really don’t cry. Ever. So the fact that there is one at all says something about Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Horribly beautiful book that utterly destroyed me inside. Read it.

30. Top 3 all-time book crushes? 

1. Lestat de Lioncourt from The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice. 2. Jon Snow from the A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R. R. Martin. 3. Ron Weasley from the Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling.

Happy birthday to me! I found these questions on Stacks and Stacks of Books. Her blog is actually pretty awesome and you should check it out! 

I tag all of you to answer these questions on your own blog and drop a link in the comments!

Leave a Reply

